University Heights UMC (“UHUMC”) was founded in response to a massive church growth movement following World War II. Dr. Candler Budd of Glenn Memorial UMC was the visionary who saw the need for a new Methodist Church to serve the growing neighborhoods in Decatur. In 1956 two students from Emory’s Candler School of Theology were appointed to start a church in this area. Initially, worship services were held at Medlock Elementary School. The following year, Rev. Victor Schroedar was appointed as the first full time pastor. UHUMC was officially formed in a third-grade classroom at Medlock Elementary.
Next, Rev. Bill Landis was appointed to serve as the pastor of UHUMC. Under his leadership, the land was purchased and the educational wing was built. Notably, UHUMC wanted to purchase property on Druid Hills Road because it was a more visible location. Due to the lower cost, the decision to purchase land in the North Druid Woods neighborhood was made. During the 1960s, it was under the seven-year pastorate of Rev. Charles Hoover that the church grew and our existing sanctuary was built. What a blessing it turned out to be that University Heights UMC’s sanctuary and educational building were built and nestled in North Druid Woods neighborhood. Thereafter, Rev. James Sanders was appointed in 1969. A major renovation was made to the educational building, including the addition of the air conditioning. A series of pastors followed, each contributing to the life of the church.
To this day, we have an active pre-school called Preschool at The Heights (PATH). PATH continues to touch the lives of neighborhood children and families. University Heights UMC's mission statement is Listen, Love, Lead. As a member of the North Druid Woods neighborhood, University Heights UMC continues to serve its neighbors. We are your neighborhood church. All are welcome.